Texas Youth Tobacco Awareness Program (TYTAP)

Nicotine delivery devices (e-cigs and vapes) are becoming increasingly popular with children in Texas Schools!  This class can assist your child in learning methods to refuse to use the products or how to quit if they so choose.

The TYTAP Class is for youth who have violated the Texas Tobacco Law. 
Texas law states that any person
under the age of 21 who attempts to purchase, has possession of, or uses any tobacco or nicotine-containing product must be given a citation and also must complete this course as required by law. 
 

About Texas Tobacco 21:

  • Texas Tobacco 21 is the new law that raises the minimum legal age in the state of Texas to purchase tobacco from 18 years to 21 years. Currently, there 17 states in the U.S. with Tobacco 21 laws.

  • The law goes into effect on September 1, 2019.

  • Those born before August 31, 2001 are exempt from the law. Also, a valid U.S. military identification can be used by persons under 21 years of age but older than 18 years of age to purchase tobacco.

  • Tobacco retailers must card anyone under 30 years. Currently the law requires ID for those 27 years old and under.

  • A sign notifying consumers that carding is enforced and that no sales can be made to those under 21 years must be posted by all tobacco retailers.

  • A violation by someone purchasing, attempting to purchase, or knowingly providing cigarettes, e-cigarettes, or tobacco products is punishable by:

    • a fine not to exceed $100 and/or

    • a court ordered tobacco awareness class and/or

    • community service hours

  • All state law enforcement officers can enforce the state law. The El Paso County Sheriff’s Department is responsible for compliance checks on tobacco retailers.

  • Retailer penalty for sale to those under 21 is on the clerk and stays the same – up to $500.

 
This course is 4 sessions long.  It can only be taught on weekdays (no weekends) and must have a day off between sessions.  In order to schedule a class please call us and we will do our best to help you complete this requirement in a timely manner.  $80.00 per participant Thank you

© 2019. Created by Digital Studios 360

Location

Offender Education Services

4522 Co Rd 2058

Hull, TX 77564

  • Facebook Clean